Annual Reports

Annual Reports

Business Meeting - Report of the 2019-2020 Nominating Committee

TO:        Member Credit Union Manager / CEOs, Chairs, & Delegates

FROM:  2019 / 2020 AVCU Nominating Committee

                Lisa Huyer (Chair) – NorthCountry FCU

               Wanda Dunham – White River CU

               Bob LakeGreen Mountain CU

DATE:   April 3, 2020

RE:         2020 Director Nominations


The Nominating Committee of the Association of Vermont Credit Unions has performed the task of selecting candidates to fill terms expiring on the Association’s Board of Directors at the upcoming 2020 Annual Meeting of members.

On February 7, 2020 a request was sent to member credit unions for the purpose of soliciting names of possible candidates to fill the vacancies. After careful consideration, the Committee decided to place these individuals in nomination for election to the Association’s board of directors:

  • Carrie Allen, Heritage Family Credit Union (incumbent)
  • Jean Giard, Vermont Federal Credit Union
  • Brett Smith, One Credit Union (incumbent)


Petition Nominations

Association bylaws allow for additional nominees to be added to the ballot by petition. Any qualified individual seeking to be added to the 2020 director elections ballot must submit his / her completed petition and qualifications to the Nominating Committee by April 10, 2020.  Candidates submitted by petition must be accompanied by the authorized signatures of 5 member credit unions (based on current membership). Qualified individuals are those from member credit unions not already represented on the board of directors, and serving as a credit union chief executive, senior manager, or any elected volunteer. Upon determination of eligibility and petition criteria by the Nominating Committee, Petition Nominees will be added to the elections ballot, and member credit unions will be notified of the revised list of nominees on the ballot. No nominations will be allowed from the floor of the annual meeting. The appropriate Petition Nomination Form is available by request to

At the conclusion of the nomination by petition period, the final slate of nominees will be confirmed and will sit idle until the rescheduled 73rd Annual Meeting takes place.

Absentee Ballots

Under Association Bylaws, member credit unions are allowed to vote for Directors by absentee ballot prior to an announced deadline. In August, absentee ballots will be made available upon request to member credit unions and the deadline date for absentee ballots to be submitted will be announced.

2020 AVCU Director Election Nominees

Carrie Allen

Carrie is SVP, Marketing & Business Development for Heritage Family Federal Credit Union, a $512 million institution (as of 12/31/19) serving nearly 50,000 members throughout Addison, Bennington, Rutland, Windham, and Windsor counties in Vermont and the town of Hookset, New Hampshire. Carrie has held this position for 10 years and has been an AVCU Director for six years, holding the offices of Vice-Chair (current) and Secretary. She continues her service in the community as a Board Member of the Manchester Business Association (3 years), Chair, Vice-Chair, and Director of the Visiting Nurse Association & Hospice of the Southwest Region (10 years), and Committee Chair of Friends of Pediatric Programs at VNA (13 years). She was also the Chair and a Director at United Way of Rutland County (10 years), on the Membership Committee of the Rutland Chamber of Commerce and has worked with the Vermont Future Project – Pillars Planning since 2018. She holds a BA from UVM and a Strategic Performance Management & Planning Certification from George Washington University, is a Credit Union Development Educator, a CUNA Certified Business Development Professional, and in 2019 became a Certified Life Coach.

Brett A. Smith

Brett is the President & Chief Executive Officer of One Credit Union, a $175 million institution (as of 12/31/19) serving almost 17,500 members throughout Vermont’s Addison, Chittenden, Orange, Washington, and Windsor Counties; the towns of Alburgh, Grand Isle, Isle La Motte, North Hero, South Hero, and Cambridge; and Sullivan County, NH. He joined the credit union as CFO in 2014 and became President & CEO in March 2017. He has been an AVCU Director for three years, a committee member for the New England Financial Executives Council since 2016, a CUNA CEO Council member since 2017, and was a CUNA CFO Council member from 2014-2017. He continues his service in the community as a volunteer for Upper Valley United Way, has been a volunteer coach for youth football, hockey, basketball, baseball, and softball over the past 20+ years, and currently serves as Vice-Chair of the Board at Vermont Make-a-Wish. He holds an AS Degree in Accounting from Andover College, graduated Summa Cum Laude with a bachelor’s degree in Accounting with Business Management concentration from Franklin Pierce College, CUNA’s Certified CU Executive (CCUE) designation, and CUNA’s Credit Union Enterprise Risk Management Expert (CUERME) designation.

Jean Giard

Jean is the President & Chief Executive Officer of Vermont Federal Credit Union, a $588 million institution (as of 12/31/19) serving more than 42,300 members throughout Addison, Caledonia, Chittenden, Franklin, Grand Isle, Lamoille, Orange, Orleans, and Washington Counties. Prior to joining Vermont FCU as CFO in 2006, she became a Certified Public Accountant and was a partner in a local firm where she was responsible for audits at numerous banks and credit unions. She was named Vermont FCU’s President & CEO in February 2017 after being named to the job on an interim basis for more than two years. She continues her service on Tricorp Federal Credit Union’s Supervisory Committee which began in April 2017, is a Certified CUES Innovation Executive, and has attended several CUES conferences and seminars, most recently the CUES Strategic Growth Institute. In the community, she serves on the Board of Directors at Make a Wish Vermont and Converse Home, a small non-profit. She graduated with a B.S. degree in Psychology from the University of Vermont and has an extensive background in finance and business.